• USAASC announces October MOS 51C reclassification board results

    FORT BELVOIR, Va. (Nov. 18, 2013) – A total of 26 candidates were selected for reclassification as a result of the 51C Noncommissioned Officer (NCO) reclassification board held here October 21-22, 2013.

    The first board of the fiscal year was convened by the U.S. Army Acquisition Support Center (USAASC) and administered by the 51C Proponent Office.

    “We had 106 applicants compete for the 26 positions and the competition was stiff,” said Cory Foster, contracting proponency officer.

    The number of selected applicants varies across each board and is dependent upon the accession needs of the Army at the time.

    “We expect to bring many NCOs by next September and we will hold boards every few months—there are plenty of opportunities to compete,” added Foster.

    The purpose of the board is to ensure the best qualified NCOs from across the Army are selected for reclassification into military occupational specialty (MOS) 51C, an Acquisition, Logistics and Technology Contracting NCO, which is part of the Army Acquisition, Logistics and Technology Workforce.

    The primary mission for 51C NCOs is to deploy as contingency contracting officers and serve as members of the early entry module contingency contracting team. When not deployed, selected NCOs will serve as contingency contracting officers in support of a headquarters, principal assistant responsible for contracting, contracting support brigades, contingency contracting battalions, and/or installation contracting offices for training and mission support.

    Submission schedules and additional information are posted on the USAASC website.

    USAASC congratulates the following Soldiers for their selection:

    Sgt. Rafael Alameda-Pabon Sgt.(P) Jessie J. Jasnoch
    Staff Sgt. Edna Alcin-Wilson Sgt.(P) Latoya N. Jeffries
    Sgt. Nikkeyla D. Barbee Staff Sgt. Aja M. Lynch
    Staff Sgt. Steven Barva Sgt. Timothy McMillan
    Staff Sgt. Anthony D. Bryant Staff Sgt. Jacob Pankow
    Staff Sgt. Oscar F. Cano Sgt. William A. Phipps
    Staff Sgt. Joel M. Celona Sgt.(P) Julian D. Rhooms
    Sgt. Dextra D. Davis Sgt.(P) Jessica D. Salter
    Sgt. Tameka C. Flowers Staff Sgt. Michael L. Sapp
    Staff Sgt. Gregory Gunn Staff Sgt. Katrina R. Tolbert
    Sgt. Joshua J. Harris Staff Sgt. Jonathan G. Vallejo
    Sgt. Marvin E. Hopkins Staff Sgt. Antonio D. Woodson
    Staff Sgt. Michael J. Howen Sgt. Jacqueline M. Wright


Share Post

Related Posts


    Competitive Development Group welcomes 2014 fellows The Director, U.S. Army Acquisition Support Center (USAASC), Craig Spisak, welcomes seven new Competitive Development Group/Army Acquisition Fellowship (CDG/AAF) fellows during an orientation meeting at Defense Acquisition University on [&hellip...

  • Education key for contracting certification

    By Daniel P. Elkins, Mission and Installation Contracting Command Public Affairs Office   JOINT BASE SAN ANTONIO-FORT SAM HOUSTON, Texas (March 12, 2014) — Entering the Army Acquisition Corps necessitates enlisted Soldiers to meet specific [&hellip...

  • Acquisition Education and Training Corner

    Education and training opportunities   By USAASC Acquisition, Education and Training Branch   Defense Acquisition University-Senior Service College Fellowship (DAU-SSCF): The DAU-SSCF Announcement opened Jan. 29 and closes April 2, 2014. This Military Education Level [&hellip...