

THE DEFENSE ACQUISITION WORKFORCE AWARDS

The Honorable Ellen Lord, Under Secretary of Defense for Acquisition, Technology, and Logistics (USD[AT&L]) hosted the ceremony. She emphasized that "Defense acquisition success is critical to providing the warfighters what they need quickly and at the lowest possible cost. Our success is dependent on the outstanding capability and performance of our people." The Honorable Patrick Shanahan, Deputy Secretary of Defense and ceremony distinguished guest, echoed those sentiments, stating that the acquisition workforce will "help [the Department of Defense] become even more competitive than we are today."

The Defense Acquisition Workforce Individual Achievement Awards highlight premier individuals who demonstrate the highest levels of excellence and professionalism in the acquisition of products and services for the Department of Defense. These awards recognize individuals in each of the acquisition functional disciplines.

The Defense Acquisition Workforce Development Innovation Awards were established to recognize excellence by acquisition organizations in developing unique and innovative solutions to ensure that their workforce is well equipped to deliver world-class capabilities to the warfighter. The award highlights demonstrated exceptional outside-the-box thinking and progress in tackling workforce development challenges.



INDIVIDUAL ACHIEVEMENT AWARD WINNERS

The Honorable Ellen Lord presented the awards, accompanied by the Honorable Patrick Shanahan; and Lieutenant General Anthony Ierardi, U.S. Army, Director, Force Structure, Resources and Assessment (J8) Joint Staff.



Lieutenant Colonel Thomas A. Atkinson U.S. Special Operations Command | Program Management

Mr. Ulises Cartaya U.S. Special Operations Command | Services Acquisition





Mr. Lee R. Rosenberg Missile Defense Agency | Small Business

Photos by Specialist Tammy Nooner, USA.









DEVELOPMENT INNOVATION AWARD WINNERS

Large Organization



Defense Contract Management Agency, Fort Lee, Virginia

The Honorable Ellen Lord; Kathleen Butera; Marie Greening; Chris Zubof; the Honorable Patrick Shanahan, Deputy Secretary of Defense; and Lieutenant General Anthony Ierardi, Director, Force Structure, Resources and Assessment (J8), Joint Staff

Small Organization



U.S. Army Contracting Command, Orlando, Florida

Front Row: Patricia Neal, Kimberly Tedeschi, Servola Frazier, Rosa Rivera, Jeff Claar Back Row: Kristie Brandon; the Honorable Ellen Lord; Joseph Giunta, the Honorable Patrick

Shanahan; and Lieutenant General Anthony Ierardi.

Photos by Dirke Williams, Department of Defense.