Secretary Of The Army Awards For Excellence In Contracting

The Secretary of the Army Awards for Excellence in Contracting (SAAEC) were established Nov. 7, 1997. Each year these awards recognize the outstanding efforts toward contracting excellence and professionalism of organizations and individuals (civilian and military). These prestigious awards are presented only to those entrants whose accomplishments and abilities elevate them above the best in the field across the Army.

Undersecretary of Defense for Acquisition and Sustainment Awards

The Army Director, Acquisition Career Management (DACM) Office of the U.S. Army Acquisition Support Center is the official collection point for U.S. Army nominations. The Army DACM Office will compile the nominations and submit them to senior leadership, who will then select and forward the Army submissions to USD(A&S) for consideration.

Secretary of Defense Product Support Manager Award

Performance based logistics award

2019 DOD award programs are now closed. Winners will be announced later this year or in early 2020. View past winners at the Wall of Fame.

Army Acquisition Executive’s (AAE) Excellence in Leadership Awards

The Army Acquisition Executive’s (AAE) Excellence in Leadership Awards applauds individuals and teams whose outstanding contributions and achievements merit special recognition. It also provides an opportunity to showcase the professionalism of the Army Acquisition Workforce (AAW). The goal is to highlight not only the best people and their individual accomplishments but also to highlight how they help their organization and the acquisition community at large.

To be eligible for an Individual AAE Excellence in Leadership Award (with the exception of two awards noted below), nominees must occupy an acquisition workforce designated position and be current in their Defense Acquisition Workforce Improvement Act certification and continuous learning points. (NOTE: The two exceptions are the Defense Exportability and Cooperation Professional of the Year and the Acquisition Support Professional of the Year categories, which are open to all Army employees supporting the Acquisition Workforce).

Click on the icons below for submission details for each award.


For questions regarding the awards season, please contact Vicky DeGuzman at (703) 664-5691 or email