By January 7, 2021Acquisition, General
Print Friendly, PDF & Email



FORT BELVOIR, Va. (January 7, 2021)— Lt. Gen. Robert L. Marion, Army Acquisition Corps director and principal military deputy to the assistant secretary of the Army for Acquisition, Logistics and Technology (ASA(ALT)), has announced the winners of the 2020 Maj. Gen. Harold J. “Harry” Greene Awards for Acquisition Writing. “The entries this year were very impressive, and I want to thank all who participated in our annual writing competition, which is designed to advance the understanding and influence the dialogue about Army Acquisition. It is clear that a lot of hard work went into all the submissions we received this year,” Marion said.

In the category of Acquisition Reform, the winning entry is authored by Bonnie Evangelista and Fianna Litvok from the Program Executive Office (PEO) for Enterprise Information Systems and titled “Evolutionary Acquisition: Closing the Loop and Fulfilling the Promise of Rapid Cyber Acquisition.” Nicholaus Saacks, from the PEO for Command, Control, Communications-Tactical, is awarded honorable mention for his submission titled, “Transition to Sustainment, Not a One-Time Baton Toss.”

In the category of Future Operations, Erin Tromley, along with co-authors Dr. Peter Schihl, Dr. James Dusenbury, Joseph Keusch, Timothy Kler, Thomas Banks and Rakesh Patel, from the PEO for Combat Support and Combat Service Support and the U.S. Army Combat Capabilities Development Command Ground Vehicle Systems Center, submitted the winning entry titled “Maximizing Commercial-Off-the-Shelf (COTS) Technology in Army Acquisition: The Impact of Army-Unique Requirements on Program Executive Office Combat Support and Combat Service Support’s Ability to Field ‘Best Value’ COTS in the Future.” Lt. Col. Sarah Forster, with the Defense Contract Management Agency, and Maj. Hassan Kamara from ASA(ALT), received honorable mention for their submission titled, “Navigating the Readiness and Modernization Conundrum.”

In the category of Innovation, the winning submission is authored by David Riel, from the Defense Acquisition University-Midwest Region, and titled “How Relevant is Speed? The Global Dynamics of the Twenty-First Century.” Honorable mention is awarded to Mark DuBose, from the PEO for simulation, training and instrumentation, for his submission, “A New Benchmark for Transit Case Acquisition: Drop Testing.”

In the category of Lessons Learned, the winning submission is authored by Elliott Bird from ASA(ALT), and titled “FWS-S (Family of Weapons – Sniper) and the OTA (Other Transaction Authority) Process.” Maj. Steven Cusack (U.S. Army Aviation Center of Excellence) received honorable mention for his essay entitled “Streams Theory: A Policy Enactment Tool for Army Materiel Development.”

To showcase the winners and honorable mentions, we will publish their works in a special supplement to the spring edition of Army AL&T magazine. The Army acquisition executive’s Excellence in Leadership Awards Ceremony, where we traditionally honor our winning authors, unfortunately will not be held this year.

“My congratulations to the 2020 winners and honorable mentions, and my very best wishes to all who participated in the Seventh Annual Major General Harold J. “Harry” Greene Awards for Acquisition Writing competition. I also want to express my sincere thanks to the judges for their time and expertise, as well as the family, friends, and colleagues who supported the authors in their important work.” Marion said.



Subscribe to Army AL&T News – the premier online news source for the Army Acquisition Workforce. Subscribe