2020 Secretary of the Army Awards for Excellence in Contracting Winners Announced

By December 15, 2020General
Print Friendly, PDF & Email



WASHINGTON (Dec. 15, 2020)—The winners of the annual Secretary of the Army Awards for Excellence in Contracting for fiscal year 2020 were announced during a virtual awards ceremony on Dec. 9.

Rebecca Weirick, deputy assistant secretary of the Army for procurement, notified and congratulated the winners. “This recognition reflects your outstanding contribution and dedication in support of our Soldiers and the Army mission,” she said.

The annual awards recognize exemplary efforts toward contracting excellence by highlighting contracting organizations and individuals that excel in customer satisfaction, productivity, process improvement and quality enhancement.

Congratulations to the 2020 Secretary of the Army Awards for Excellence in Contracting winners!


Systems, Research and Development, Logistics Support (Sustainment) Contracting Award:
Branch H, Division D, U.S. Army Contracting Command (ACC) – Aberdeen Proving Ground, Maryland

Contingency Contracting Award:
Field Directorate Office, Mission and Installation Contracting Command (MICC) – Fort Sam Houston, Texas

Installation Level Contracting Office or Directorate of Contracting:
Regional Contracting Office, 413th Contracting Support Brigade – Hawaii

Specialized Services and Construction Contracting:
COVID-19 Alternate Care Facility Design Build Method Team, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) – New York


Barbara C. Heald (Deployed Civilian) Award:
Estella C. Juarez, ACC – Afghanistan

Contracting Professional of the Year:
Kelly M. Gorman, ACC – New Jersey

Exceptional Support of the AbilityOne Program:
Matthew R. Buchanan, ACC – Aberdeen Proving Ground, Natick, Massachusetts

Innovation in Contracting Strategies:
Operation Warp Speed Team, ACC – Aberdeen Proving Ground

Contracting Noncommissioned Officer of the Year:
Staff Sergeant Keith L. McDougal, 409th Contracting Support Brigade, ACC – Kaiserslautern, Germany

Outstanding Contracting Specialist/Procurement Analyst:
Melanie A. Caines, USACE – Omaha, Nebraska


Specialized Services and Construction Contracting Award:
John H. Tucker II, USACE – Omaha

Installation Level Contracting Office or Directorate of Contracting Award:
Curtis Arthur II, MICC – Fort Eustis, Virginia

Contingency Contracting Award:
Major Brian J. Burton, ACC – Rock Island, Illinois

Systems, R&D, Logistics Support (Sustainment) Contracting Award:
Idia I. Osaghae, ACC – Aberdeen Proving Ground


Subscribe to Army AL&T News – the premier online news source for the Army Acquisition Workforce. Subscribe